Car Render Challenge 2023 - Buggy Race

Notifications
Clear all

just-joshing
(@just-joshing)
Topic starter  

Hi everyone, my name is Josh, I’m a 3D artist originally from England but currently living in Amsterdam. My idea for this project is a little weird but I do imagine it will be an interesting model to create, I plan to make a very small “Bug”gy powered by snails… I knocked up a concept that I quite like, based on a tubular buggy chassis but with twig-based shapes that could be found in nature.

Step one is to create the twigs. I will be using Houdini for the vast majority of this project and generating as many things as I can procedurally. I am still a bit of a beginner in this program so this contest is a good push to lean some new things. I created a tool to create twigs from curves, it generates a low poly version and a high poly version complete with vertex colours. With an integrated python script the 2 versions are exported from Houdini, then batched through the Substance Automation Toolkit to bake the high res colours and height details onto the low poly mesh, resulting in customizable, completely procedural twigs for the chassis. There are a lot of assets that need to be created for this project so I will try to automate as much of the process as I can to make the computer do as much work as possible for me in the limited time available.

Here is a little insight into how it works, the most logical way to do this in my opinion was to always work in the same axis, Y in this case, build a straight stick based on the length of the input curve, then deform it back to the desired shape. This is done mostly using VDB’s and volumes, then the texturing is done with noises in VEX and some tri-planar projections in VOP networks. The whole thing runs in a loop so the 2-curve type sticks are made together as one mesh